God’s Perfect Timing

God has blessed me with a very full life. I have lived overseas, traveled to 5 continents, have an amazingly loving family, and a grand network of friends.  As I journeyed through my adult life, I always trusted God’s timing in my dream of meeting a man to love and marry.  It’s in God’s great sense of humor that he brought this man into my life just as he was calling me to serve him in the DR.  On November 27, 2012 I went on my first date with Anthony.  He talked about his love of God, missions, and the time that he had spent in the DR.  We had a wonderful 3 hours chatting and I had a good feeling that this could really go somewhere.  4 dates later I told him about God’s calling on my heart to head back to the DR. I’ll never forget his response to me- “First and foremost, I want you to follow God’s leading in your life and so if we’re still together, we’ll cross that bridge when the time comes.” This response stole my heart and I knew that if I went, I was likely going to have to leave him behind in the states.  Well, here we are 8 months later, crossing that bridge, and we’re engaged!  I am so grateful and blessed. Antho has walked with me every step of the way preparing for the year ahead of me and I know that he will walk beside me as I go.  I’m dreading that early morning trip to the airport Monday, however I’m confident in God’s plan for our time apart and my prayer is that it only draws us closer together.

6 thoughts on “God’s Perfect Timing

  1. I thought that was coming when I saw you at the library that morning 🙂 congratulations! we are very excited for you! Absence makes the heart grown fonder…

  2. Congratulations on your engagement! I’m so excited and happy for you. I cannot wait to tell Jamari as I’m sure he will be happy for you as well. Congratulations to you both!

    • Thanks Raven! I had meant to tell you guys before I left, however time got away from me! Can’t wait to hear about Jamari’s response:)

      • Jamari was so excited to when I told him. His face lit up and he had the biggest smile on his face. He is so happy for you!

  3. Congratulations Joy! What an exciting time in your life.

Leave a comment